Skip Navigation

Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program

The Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program is run by the Children’s Book Council of Australia NSW Branch Inc. and is presented annually to an unpublished author. It is partnered through the generosity of HarperCollinsChildrens'Books Australia. 

Up until 2016 the author needed to be residing in NSW. From 2017 the entry conditions are extended to authors residing anywhere within in Australia.

Click here for the latest details.The 2017 Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program opened on February 1.

Details of the 2017 Program are here on the menu to the right. 

The recipient receives the Charlotte Waring Barton Award.

Past Recipients

Danika Hall, 2016 Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program winner, as part of the mentorship, attended HarperCollins Children’s Books on Monday 5 June 2017 and met the team as well as touring their offices as part of her mentorship prize for the Aspiring Writers Program. More details here from Danika Hall.

Click here to access a list of winners since 1996. (Note:The Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program was previously known as the Frustrated Writers Mentorship Program)

The success of the Program is demonstrated by the achievements of those who have won or have been shortlisted and it is gratifying that many have received other awards since being published. These include:Danika Hall, Michelle Cooper, J C Burke, Toni Brisland, Jacqueline Harvey, Oliver Phommavanh, Aleesah Darlison, Kirsty Eager and Nathan Luff.