Skip Navigation

CBCA Book of the Year

Award Categories      Honour Book award

CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers

Entries in this category are for outstanding books for young people aged between 13 and 18 years (secondary school level). Readers require a degree of maturity to appreciate the themes and scope of emotional involvement. Books in this category may be fiction, drama, illustrated text, poetry or graphic novels. Judging takes into account the literary qualities of the text, editing and book production.

CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Entries in this category are for outstanding books published for children in the age range from 8 to 12 years (Primary school level). Books may be fiction, drama, graphic novels, illustrated text or poetry. Judging takes into account the literary qualities of the text, editing and book production.

CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood   Gold award

Entries in this category are for outstanding books suitable in content and style for pre and beginning readers (Pre school and infants level). These include works of fiction, poetry, wordless, board and concept books. The illustration/s reflect/s all the text on the page and often do not add extra meaning to the storyline. The font size and style, rhythm and meter of the text are important. Clear design, layout and editing are also important.

CBCA Picture Book of the Year

Entries in this category should be outstanding books of the genre in which the text and illustrations achieve artistic and literary unity and the story, theme or concept is enhanced and unified through the illustrations. Picture Books can be for any age. A picture book can be written and illustrated by a sole creator or a collaborative effort between two or more creators. The text and illustrations work cohesively. The illustrations are an integral part of, or extend the action on the page. The illustrations are either as important as the text or more important and can be enjoyed separately from the text. Illustrator/s that have taken an existing piece of work and produced new illustrations that enhance that text can only be entered in this category.

The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Entries in this category should be books which have the prime purpose of documenting factual material with consideration given to imaginative presentation, interpretation and variation of style. Books are judged on the balance and harmony of language style and presentation, graphic excellence, clarity, appropriateness and aesthetic appeal of illustrations, and the overall design of the book. Referencing of sources are important, as are inclusion of a contents page, index, bibliography and glossary which enhance the reader’s experience. Autobiographies and biographies are entered in this category. Age range for this category is 0 to 18 years.


2018  Book Week artwork

CBCA Book Week Theme: Find Your Treasure

2018's artwork was created by Illustrator and Author Anna Walker, creator of Mr Huff.

Merchandise featuring Anna's beautiful artwork may be ordered at a member's discount through the CBCA NSW Branch office. 


20172017 CBCA Book Week artwork | Freya Blackwood


  • the CBCA 2017 Book of the Year Awards here
  • Reading Time reviews of each book here
  • a printable list here and
  • the 2017 CBCA Book Week Shortlist here.

The Notables List for 2017 was announced on 28th February. Click here to view the list and here in printable formats.

To access information about the CBCA Book of the year Awards from our National website, click here 

There is:

- Information concerning:

  • Awards Policy
  • Judges nomination
  • An explanation regarding the new judging process for 2017

- Diary dates connected to the Book of the Year, Notables, and the Shortlist.

- Links to the Children's Book of the Year Awards in previous years including the BOYA speeches and the various Winners and Honour Books, the Notables and Short Lists


2016 CBCA 70th Book of the Year Awards CeremonyCBCA NSW 70th Anniversary Cake

Sydney (CBCA NSW Inc) was the proud host of this momentous occasion. View the list here (a pdf here), a news media report here and also in the third volume of iRead 2016 here.

Robert Ingpen AM | Lifetime Achievement Award  

A highlight of the ceremony was the presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Robert Ingpen AM.  

Read more about it here and also in the third volume of iRead 2016 here

Read the judges report here about the 2016 winner of The Crichton Award for New illustrators,  Allison Colpoys with her book,The Underwater Fancy-Dress Parade.  

Read a report here of the CBCA from Louise Owens’ blog.

  Allison Colpoys with Geraldine Woolnough | Crichton Award  2016