Skip Navigation

Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program | 2018 Winner Announced | Peta Miller

Fri, 09 Nov 2018


AWMP 2018 Peta Miller with Alison Manno
Congratulations to Peta Miller for her winning manuscript Sing Us Home.

In the offices of HarperCollins Australia, CEO of HarperCollins Australia and New Zealand James Kellow presented Peta with the Charlotte Waring Barton Award, named in honour of Charlotte Waring Barton (1797–1867), the author of Australia’s earliest known children’s book.

Peta will also receive an extensive mentorship program from HarperCollins Children’s Books which involves two, three-hour guidance sessions with a published HarperCollins author, as well as an additional three hours with HarperCollins staff, including a publisher, an editor and a marketing communications manager.

Guests at the event also heard from award winning author Sheryl Gwyther and award winning author/illustrator Liz Anelli along with publishers Cristina Cappelluto and Lisa Berryman from HarperCollins and 2017 winner Maura Pierlot.

The Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program aims at fostering the talent of aspiring writers of children's literature across Australia and isopen to all Australian citizens residing in Australia. CBCA NSW Branch Inc would like to thank HarperCollins Children’s Books their sponsorship and support of this program from 2016 - 2018.

More information on our Night for Aspiring Writers presentation and networking event can be found at

For further information and interviews, please contact:

Felicity Jagavkar Business Manager CBCA NSW Branch Inc

T: 02 9818 3858 E:

HCCB Australia logo RGB




< Back